Day 5, June 8: Kamloops to Salmon Arm, BC

My body is craving the road, as I’m eager to get up and get going at 5:30 am.  I’m sure the warm sunny days help too, but I don’t wish on a rainy morning to figure out if we are slower to move.  After breakfast we had a good morning stretch to work out the kinks, and hit the road by 8 am.

BikersComing out of the city we avoided traffic, and enjoyed a nice flat warm up for the first 35 km to Chase, BC where our cravings took over reasoning and Hugh and I stopped at A&W for scrambled eggs and toast.  We weren’t trying to delay our approach to Jade Mountain, ‘the toughest climb’ that people have been warning us about, but just filling up on energy to keep our pedals moving strong.  I am happy to say, we made our way up without any difficulty and can’t believe it causes such concern in cycling conversation.

So we had made the one significant climb of the day… until the last stretch.  Our finishing climb to the RV park on the far side of Salmon Arm caused profanity, though we knew it was better now than in the morning.  Sometimes we just don’t like what’s good for us!

I didn’t think the views could get any better than we had experienced on previous days but this was the best as you can see from the photos below.  The last 60 km were looking out over the highway to incredible views of the SHUSWAP LAKES, famous for summer relaxation, cruising and houseboating….  eat your heart out Europe.

Salmon Arm farmsalmon arm2In summing up for me it was the easiest ride to date, clocking in 95.7 km in 4.33 hours, or so my Garmin tells me.  Jon found us a great home away from home campground once again, Hugh is getting dinner ready, burgers tonight, and I am here writing my blog while enjoying a Creemore Lager…  life is good.

Looking forward to Day 6 and our ride to Revelstoke tomorrow, which means we will have earned our day off!   I’m excited for a lazy day, which isn’t a common saying to flow off my tongue, and if I am lucky I hope to find a massage therapist.

Thank you for your personal messages and comments on my blog.  Keep them coming, it is so good to hear from you, and I appreciate your encouragement and excitement as my dream unfolds.

Cheers Sid!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 5, June 8: Kamloops to Salmon Arm, BC

  1. Mary Joan Graham says:

    I enjoy keeping up to date with your entries. You sure have been blessed with an overdose of energy. I like the pictures you include. Keep eating well.
    Xx
    Love. Mother

  2. Kathy Dewling says:

    Hello From Dawson City in the Yukon. We are here visiting one of the kids and enjoying some great scenery as well….although I think you guys may have a better perspective from your bicycles … On our drive from Whitehorse, we saw 2 guys biking south and we thought of you and your amazing journey. Enjoy your day off in beautiful Revelstoke…you have earned it! Travel safe and we will stay in touch… Kathy D and Rick H

Leave a Reply

